Week 6: Hochschule Leben (College Life)

Guten Tag Everybody!

Wow. All I can say is just: wow. You may be wondering why there’s a gigantic 4-week gap between my posts. Well, let me tell you….LIFE happened! And boy did it happen HARD! I have since moved away to college whereas my life has turned a full and complete 180 degrees. So if you’ll excuse the lack of posts, I’ve been busy trying to screw my head back onto my shoulders, with relative success.

But what a 4 weeks it’s been! I am happy to report that I had lost 12 pounds in the month of September! Quite a victory for someone who has been….well, um, “chubby” most of her adult life. So chubby in fact, that I’ve needed not one, but TWO bra extenders.

Embarrassing, right?? Having to wear 2 bra extenders is enough to suck any woman’s self-esteem right out the window. Of course, that’s part of why I wanted to start this blog. So that women who are struggling with their weight can read it and know that they’re not alone, and that they may be inspired to start losing weight themselves and know that it is most definitely possible. Oh, and since September 1st I have gone down 2 notches. One more notch and I will be able to rid myself of the white bra extender!

 So how did I do it you ask? Well, let me tell ya! When I was living back at home with my mom, I basically ate whatever I wanted whenever I wanted (as I explained in my very first post). I was good about exercise, but only took about an hour out of my day to do it. The rest of the time was more or less spent in front of a computer screen. Here at college, I walk and ride my bike everywhere, all day long. I swear I feel like I’m in Europe! And let me tell you this place has some gnarly hills! I felt like I was going to die the first week!

For anyone who’s curious, the starving student diet really does work! As far as food goes, well, I just haven’t been eating very much of it at all. I know, I know, not the healthiest thing I can do but when you’re rushing from class to class, you’re lucky if you get part of a sandwich in ya. To be fair, the food that I AM eating is significantly (I mean like, 100%) better than what I ate at home. Breakfast usually consists of eggs and/or a “healthy” cereal, or if I’m late for class, a Kashi bar to go. For lunch I will usually have a tuna sandwich, and then dinner will be something like boneless, skinless chicken with a side of whole wheat pasta. My between-classes snack is usually a small handful of mixed nuts or apple slices with peanut butter. Not bad, huh? It’s better than eating at Olive Garden!

It’s taken me a little bit longer than I expected to “acclimate” to college. Physically, mentally, emotionally, and every other sense of the word. But I’m starting to feel like I’m getting the hang of things around here! This week I’ve started doing plank exercises to strengthen my core. I also plan on going to yoga 3 times a week, not so much for the flexibility or strength, but just to keep me SANE and to keep my mind a little more relaxed and focused. Then, next week, I’m going to start walking on the treadmill for an hour a day. And where do I plan to do my walking and yoga-ing? So glad you asked! Just a few months ago, my school opened up a brand new multi-million dollar recreation center that is free to students! You guys gotta check this place out! I mean, they got everything here! Check this out!

 

“Explore the 165,000 square feet of recreational space that includes three separate exercise areas filled with state of the art weight and cardio equipment, three fitness studios for group exercise classes, an indoor track, a lounge area and more. Over 200 students are staffed to operate the facility and support the variety of fitness and recreation programs that strive to promote lifelong healthy habits.”  Here is the link if you want to check out the rec center:

http://www.asi.calpoly.edu/recreation_center

With a great resource like this, I have ABSOLUTELY NO EXCUSE not to get in shape and start training for the Disneyland half! This is thatfatgermanchick saying thank you and gute nacht!

Leave a Reply

