Week 8: Die Show Muss Weitergehen (The Show Must Go On)

Guten Tag Everybody!

Another week has gone by already? Really? Time flies when you’re, um, going to college….so another week has gone by which means another set of aches and pains has popped up! (dun dun dun) This stupid ankle of mine doesn’t seem to want to heal! Well, to be fair, I haven’t really ALLOWED it to heal. When I first moved to college, I went from sitting on my butt all day to walking around all day. And, to say the least, my ankle (well, my everything) was NOT amused! It decided to throw a fit, swell up, all that fun stuff. Then for a while it was fine. Now it has come back with a VENGANCE. And you all know what that means, right?? Pills. Lots and lots of pills. All joking aside, Aleve really is my best friend right now. I decided to postpone my walking routine and went for a pleasant swim today instead. Not going to help me run in a marathon, but it’s better than nothing.

Majoring in Animal Science often means you have to work with animals. And today I helped out my fellow classmates by feeding the horses…..all  75 of them. Let me just say, you haven’t lived until you’ve done dangerous, exhausting, back-breaking ranch work. One of the pluses being you get a killer cardio workout. Throwing 100-pound bales of hay into the back of a tractor, climbing onto the back of the tractor, and throwing the hay in the horse’s stalls while trying NOT to fall off the back of the tractor…..well, let’s just say I can hardly move right now. All in the name of fitness, right?? Where’s that bottle of Aleve? Seriously, if anyone is trying to lose weight and get in shape, just go to (or go back to) college. It’s enough to turn any rollie pollie into a lean mean fitness machine.

At least the weather’s been descent. What a difference from 2 weeks ago. Here’s hoping those 100-degree days are done and over with. Pretty soon I’ll be complaining that it’s too cold. Never satisfied. That’s human nature for you! Next week is weigh-in and measure week! Kind of nervous. I feel I’ve been doing good, but I don’t feel like I’ve lost much weight. Oh well. It is what it is, right? All I can do is keep exercising, eat healthy, and hope for the best! Oh, and not eat my mom’s home baked cookies this weekend when I go to visit her! Ah temptation.

I’ve been checking out the Runner’s World website, and I came across this interesting article/topic about marathon training with your dog and whether or not dogs should be on a leash when you are running with them. I personally think if your dog is well behaved, and you’re on a trail that isn’t very busy and isn’t by a road, I think it should be okay to let your dog off leash. I know a lot of people disagree with this, and I can respect that. The problem is, a lot of people THINK their dog is good off leash..until a squirrel show up. I want to get people’s opinions on this. Do you run with your dog and do you let him/her off leash? Do you think it should be okay to do that? Why or why not? And for people who don’t have a dog: do you think other people should be allowed to have their dogs off leash when they are running?  Here is the article for anyone who is interested.

http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-527–13609-0,00.html

Well, that’s all I got for this week. Guess I’m gonna have a change of plans due to this busted ankle. By the way, any tips on how to heal a busted ankle would be GREATLY appreciated. This is thatfatgermanchick saying thank you and gute nacht!

Leave a Reply

